love bite: Jade Teahouse and Patisserie

Jade Teahouse and Patisserie made a miraculous first impression on me in a quick two minutes. I meandered inside to peer at their selection of desserts, only to discover a platter of drool-worthy, golden sesame-seed encrusted balls of perfection. Assuming I could not eat them, I ask if they are gluten free, just for kicks. They are. I ask if they are vegan. They ARE. I immediately purchase one for a whopping $1.50 and run outside, laughing out loud, so I can admire my new treat. It is the size of a tennis ball, crispy on the outside, with a sweet creamy coconut filling inside. The outer pastry is made with rice flour, and has a lightly fried, tropical scent. I dip it in the small container of coconut caramel, take a bite, and keel over with joy. I’m sure the passerby are concerned – or jealous!

Note that the second image is blurry due to my newly blurred vision from an overdose of sweet sweet joy and sesame. Based on my reaction from only one treat from Jade, I am certain that a full review of the restaurant is required quite soon.


Jade Teahouse and Patisserie
7912 S.E. 13th Avenue
Portland, OR 97203


One thought on “love bite: Jade Teahouse and Patisserie

  1. I love Jade! Their jin doi (the dessert you had) remind me of home, since I would always ask for those after going to eat dim sum with my family.

Leave a Reply

