love bite: tilde

There are some boutiques that have, what I like to call, “the tangible effect,” where you want to touch absolutely everything the before you’ve fully walked in the door. Tilde is the perfect place to experience the tangible effect. It is impossible not to pick up every necklace, or organic shirt (by PIO, handmade in an LA studio!) that I came across today on my excursion to Sellwood. What strikes me immediately is the well-placed descriptions and artist statements neighboring every intriguing object or work of art, that gives each object so much meaning!

Have you ever wanted to buy a mug in your exact favorite color? Or maybe match the paint on your wall? For $12, you can select from different Pantone paint chip colors on a mug! I guess my favorite color is no longer Aqua Blue, but rather 337-C, in the color family of “Pale and Interesting?” How entertaining. And I can’t forget to mention the decorative robots made in Peru from 100% reclaimed materials. They are currently on sale for $30-$45, depending on the size.

Of all the beautiful local artwork featured on the walls (Tilde has a monthly rotating show of Portland artwork and also participate in Sellwood’s First Friday events), I am most smitten with the work of Hadley Hutten. Her work is endearing and colorful, featuring small animals and Japanese flowers. After being blown away with her prints, I would love to see the originals in person! There are countless adornments to be found here, but most exciting to me is a small pendant by Miki and Nora out of WI, that is the closest thing to wearing a metal marionberry on your neck. Again, the tangible effect takes hold, and I cannot resist holding it in my hand. Plus, marionberries are out of season, so I have to get my thrills somewhere. I am also smitten by the delicate yet edgy work of Rachael Donaldson, who also sells her work at Haunt, on East Burnside.

Tilde is full of innovative gifts such as Orla Kiely bags, a jaw-dropping scroll notepaper dispense, ready to send envelopes covered in multiple vintage stamps, and modern felt table runners. Get your visual-and tangible-fix here. You will emerge inspired and impressed.

Tilde
7919 SE 13th Ave
Portland, OR 97202
503 234 9600


Leave a Reply

