Om SHE Aromatherapy

Om SHE Aromatherapy

IMG_7817

Nail varnish in “Galaxy”

$10 AUS

This was the first Aussie gift I bought for someone in my travels, and it was so perfect that I had to buy one for myself and one for my sister and best friend, so we can all match and be chic together. I was initially drawn to the brand’s packaging – the rounded bottle and soft golden cap are quite alluring in comparison with the black color. “Galaxy” is a strong black with subtle blue undertones and a silver shimmer that only shows up in the sunlight. Indoors, you are dark, mysterious, and edgy. Outside, you are girly again. It is the perfect liminality for a fashionista’s multiple personality. Om She Aromatherapy is a natural line, and their nail varnish is non-toxic, without toluene or formaldehyde…so you can apply this polish in unventilated tight quarters without suffering from toxic exposure!

When I left Hawaii for my travels in the outback, I was firmly advised NOT to bring any nail polish with me, and that I could survive for 6 weeks without painted nails, especially if I was to be camping. It was to be excessive and unnecessary.  Well, I lasted 3 weeks before I saw this in the shop and began to obsessively paint my nails with it. Since I was “roughing it” without my usual beauty brigade of supplies, I had no base coat, top coat, quick-dry drops – nada. Two coats later, quickly applied in a 100km an hour moving vehicle, I had black nailpolish perfection. It lasted about 3-4 days without chipping and dried very quickly in the car without smooshing or smudging. Now reunited with my proper setup, with a good base coat and top coat, it lasts about 5 days without chipping. The color applies very smooth and evenly, so you can touch up the edges if it does. Plus, shimmer helps diffuse the appearance of chips a lot better than a matte shade, so it doesn’t show up as much.

Red-rice exfoliating powder

$20 AUS

I love to mix and match various beauty potions to acquire the perfect texture, scent, or color. So when I discovered SHE’s red-rice exfoliating powder, I was delighted. Simply sprinkle a small amount into your facial cleanser and, voila, you have your very own custom blended facial exfoliant! SHE recommends adding a teaspoon to a few drops of water in your hand before applying, but I enjoy the luxury and foam of a cleanser mixed with the powder. Made with a base of corn starch and red rice, it has a very fine grain that is gentle yet effective. Based on ancient Ayurvedic and Chinese traditions, red rice is thought to be very balancing and help blood circulation. It is targeted towards combination/oily skin, with kaolin clay to absorb excess oil, but not too much to make it drying. The ylang-ylang and lemon oil add a fresh floral scent and are also very balancing ingredients for oil production and to help brighten skin tone. I would recommend using this 3-4 times a week, but when you really need an extra boost of exfoliation, using it daily in the evenings and it will not turn your cheeks red from scrubbing! The packaging is paper based, so I would keep this out of the shower, but the simplicity of its shaker method makes it easy to pour into your hand.

Leave a Reply

